Skip to content

Oscar Results: “And the Winners Are…”

March 8, 2010

Well, the big day in movies has finally come and gone and the winners are out partying the night away.  There were a few minor surprises, but there were some massive historical wins as well.  Kathryn Bigelow is the first woman ever to win in the Directing category, and “The Hurt Locker” is the lowest-grossing film ever to win the honor of Best Picture with only $12.6 million at the box office.  Anyway, in case you have been living under a rock, here are the winners of Oscars in all categories (winners in bold):

Best Picture

* “Avatar”

* “The Blind Side”

* “District 9”

* “An Education”

* “The Hurt Locker”

* “Inglourious Basterds”

* “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”

* “A Serious Man”

* “Up”

* “Up in the Air”


Actor in a Leading Role

* Jeff Bridges in “Crazy Heart”

* George Clooney in “Up in the Air”

* Colin Firth in “A Single Man”

* Morgan Freeman in “Invictus”

* Jeremy Renner in “The Hurt Locker”


Actor in a Supporting Role

* Matt Damon in “Invictus”

* Woody Harrelson in “The Messenger”

* Christopher Plummer in “The Last Station”

* Stanley Tucci in “The Lovely Bones”

* Christoph Waltz in “Inglourious Basterds”


Actress in a Leading Role

* Sandra Bullock in “The Blind Side”

* Helen Mirren in “The Last Station”

* Carey Mulligan in “An Education”

* Gabourey Sidibe in “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”

* Meryl Streep in “Julie & Julia”


Actress in a Supporting Role

* Penélope Cruz in “Nine”

* Vera Farmiga in “Up in the Air”

* Maggie Gyllenhaal in “Crazy Heart”

* Anna Kendrick in “Up in the Air”

* Mo’Nique in “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire”


Animated Feature Film

* “Coraline” — Henry Selick

* “Fantastic Mr. Fox” — Wes Anderson

* “The Princess and the Frog” — John Musker and Ron Clements

* “The Secret of Kells” — Tomm Moore

* “Up” — Pete Docter


Art Direction

* “Avatar” — Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair

* “The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus” — Art Direction: Dave Warren and Anastasia Masaro; Set Decoration: Caroline Smith

* “Nine” — Art Direction: John Myhre; Set Decoration: Gordon Sim

* “Sherlock Holmes” — Art Direction: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer

* “The Young Victoria” — Art Direction: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Maggie Gray



* “Avatar” — Mauro Fiore

* “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince” — Bruno Delbonnel

* “The Hurt Locker” — Barry Ackroyd

* “Inglourious Basterds” — Robert Richardson

* “The White Ribbon” — Christian Berger


Costume Design

* “Bright Star” — Janet Patterson

* “Coco before Chanel” — Catherine Leterrier

* “The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus” — Monique Prudhomme

* “Nine” — Colleen Atwood

* “The Young Victoria” — Sandy Powell



* “Avatar” — James Cameron

* “The Hurt Locker” — Kathryn Bigelow

* “Inglourious Basterds” — Quentin Tarantino

* “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” — Lee Daniels

* “Up in the Air” — Jason Reitman

Documentary (Feature)

* “Burma VJ” — Anders Østergaard and Lise Lense-Møller

* “The Cove” – Louie Psihoyos

* “Food, Inc.” — Robert Kenner and Elise Pearlstein

* “The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers” — Judith Ehrlich and Rick Goldsmith

* “Which Way Home” — Rebecca Cammisa


Documentary (Short Subject)

* “China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province” — Jon Alpert and Matthew O’Neill

* “The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner” — Daniel Junge and Henry Ansbacher

* “The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant” — Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert

* “Music by Prudence” — Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett

* “Rabbit à la Berlin” — Bartek Konopka and Anna Wydra


Film Editing

* “Avatar” — Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua and James Cameron

* “District 9” — Julian Clarke

* “The Hurt Locker” — Bob Murawski and Chris Innis

* “Inglourious Basterds” — Sally Menke

* “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” — Joe Klotz


Foreign Language Film

* “Ajami” — Israel

* “El Secreto de Sus Ojos” — Argentina

* “The Milk of Sorrow” — Peru

* “Un Prophète” — France

* “The White Ribbon” — Germany



* “Il Divo” — Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano

* “Star Trek” — Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow

* “The Young Victoria” — Jon Henry Gordon and Jenny Shircore


Music (Original Score)

* “Avatar” — James Horner

* “Fantastic Mr. Fox” — Alexandre Desplat

* “The Hurt Locker” — Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders

* “Sherlock Holmes” — Hans Zimmer

* “Up” — Michael Giacchino


Music (Original Song)

* “Almost There” from “The Princess and the Frog” — Music and Lyric by Randy Newman

* “Down in New Orleans” from “The Princess and the Frog” — Music and Lyric by Randy Newman

* “Loin de Paname” from “Paris 36” — Music by Reinhardt Wagner Lyric by Frank Thomas

* “Take It All” from “Nine” — Music and Lyric by Maury Yeston

* “The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)” from “Crazy Heart” — Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett


Short Film (Animated)

* “French Roast” — Fabrice O. Joubert

* “Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty” — Nicky Phelan and Darragh O’Connell

* “The Lady and the Reaper (La Dama y la Muerte)” — Javier Recio Gracia

* “Logorama” — Nicolas Schmerkin

* “A Matter of Loaf and Death” — Nick Park


Short Film (Live Action)

* “The Door” — Juanita Wilson and James Flynn

* “Instead of Abracadabra” — Patrik Eklund and Mathias Fjellström

* “Kavi” — Gregg Helvey

* “Miracle Fish” — Luke Doolan and Drew Bailey

* “The New Tenants” — Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson


Sound Editing

* “Avatar” — Christopher Boyes and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle

* “The Hurt Locker” — Paul N.J. Ottosson

* “Inglourious Basterds” — Wylie Stateman

* “Star Trek” — Mark Stoeckinger and Alan Rankin

* “Up” — Michael Silvers and Tom Myers


Sound Mixing

* “Avatar” — Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson and Tony Johnson

* “The Hurt Locker” — Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett

* “Inglourious Basterds” — Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti and Mark Ulano

* “Star Trek” — Anna Behlmer, Andy Nelson and Peter J. Devlin

* “Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen” — Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers and Geoffrey Patterson


Visual Effects

* “Avatar” — Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones

* “District 9” — Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros and Matt Aitken

* “Star Trek” — Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh and Burt Dalton


Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

* “District 9” — Written by Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell

* “An Education” — Screenplay by Nick Hornby

* “In the Loop” — Screenplay by Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche

* “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” — Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher

* “Up in the Air” — Screenplay by Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner


Writing (Original Screenplay)

* “The Hurt Locker” — Written by Mark Boal

* “Inglourious Basterds” — Written by Quentin Tarantino

* “The Messenger” — Written by Alessandro Camon & Oren Moverman

* “A Serious Man” — Written by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen

* “Up” — Screenplay by Bob Peterson, Pete Docter, Story by Pete Docter, Bob Peterson, Tom McCarthy


There you go!  For those of you who like to go back and watch all of the winning films, go crazy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauri permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:30 pm

    I know that The Hurt Locker is out on DVD, but is it possible that it will be rereleased in theaters (for a bigger box office take)? This is a movie that needs to be seen, and I hope people will seek it out.

    • David J. Fowlie permalink*
      March 9, 2010 9:40 am

      It actually IS in theaters right now….probably limited but it was re-released right before the Oscars and will likely remain there for the next couple of weeks at least.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: